Swatching for the *Big One*

It’s time to ‘fess up and admit that I’ve never knitted Chris anything more substantial than the odd hat, a few pairs of socks and some rather natty ‘man bootees’ to keep his feet warm in the freezing winter we’ve just endured!

He has, over the years, expressed an interest in sweaters and cardigans and I’ve always promised that when the right pattern came along I would of course oblige, all the while assuming that deep down he really understood that I am fundamentally a selfish knitter and he was unlikely to ever get to the top of the queue. It seems not…

He finally put some serious browsing effort into finding the perfect pattern – yes, he is a ‘Ravelry’ man – and came up with a shortlist of two. His initial choice was ‘Jarrett’ by Kim Hargreaves which features in the Rowan Vintage Knits book.

© Rowan

This is a fabulous looking cardi and I am sure at some point in the future this will be a great project but I pointed out that it’s a fairly ‘lightweight’ knit in DK Felted Tweed and as he had in mind a chunky, cosy cardi it just didn’t quite cut the mustard.

We moved on down the list to number two…

Jared Flood is one of my favourite designers and his ‘Brooklyn Tweed’ blog has always been a regular haunt of mine. ‘Smokin‘ (Ravelry link)  is, I think, one of his earlier designs and as with all his work it’s classic and the suggested yarn (Rowan Scottish Tweed) is also timeless – aside from the fact that it’s been discontinued by Rowan!

Swatching with Felted Tweed Chunky in Mocha (286) it’s looking good…

This is the pile of yarn required:

The only thing halting further progress is that I really do need to cast off the swatch and wash/dry it just to make sure (ahem…)

4 thoughts on “Swatching for the *Big One*

  1. Look, I haven’t had my brekky yet and you got me clicking on that linky thing to ‘Brooklyn Tweed’ and now I’ve found just the pattern I needed to use some gorgeous lace weight yarn I have – Jared Flood’s Rock Island Shawl.

    Thank you sooooo much 😉
    Celia

  2. Pingback: Knitting in a posh tent! « making things with beautiful yarn

Leave a Reply

