Normal service resumes!

From the lack of knitting on the blog lately you’d be forgiven for thinking that the needles have been quiet. In reality, it’s been a bit of a frenzy as new ideas, projects and necessities get planned, cast on and – just occasionally – finished!

“The Big One” is almost done and dusted after a concerted effort last week. I’m working up the button-band (which has just reminded me I need to track down some suitable buttons!) and then it will be finishing touches and sewing in what seems like far too many ends! Let me tell you, 50g balls of Chunky yarn don’t go very far when you’re knitting a large garment! I’m not really one for ‘chunky’ knitting of anything other than hats & slippers and I think next time I cast on a sweater sized garment I’ll try to choose a yarn that comes in 100g balls!

One thing is for sure… it’s going to be a very warm, snuggly cardi and it even looks like it’s going to fit (which is always a bonus…)

Also new on the needles a shimmer of gold:

More progress pics to come but this amazing Fyberspates Scrumptious Lace weight yarn is being transformed into an Ostrich Plume Stole (Ravelry link). I’ve been determined to come up with the perfect project for this amazing gold yarn since I first set eyes on it and with a late summer wedding to attend I’m hoping that this will coordinate perfectly with my only half decent dress!!

We were very excited to read about the publication of a new book of patterns designed around the Fyberspates Scrumptious yarn range. We’ll have copies in our next delivery and will be sure to review it (as well as cast-on a few projects no doubt!)

In other news, we’re clearing out and making space for new yarns and a bit of a change in direction so you can grab some great bargains in the store at the moment including Rowan Big Wool & Drift, Debbie Bliss Rialto, Sublime Bamboo & Pearls and Noro Kochoran among others. Once it’s gone that’s it, so don’t delay!

Just a small sample of the yarn goodies going for a song!

One thought on “Normal service resumes!

  1. If it was me – I could imagine myself pinching that lovely big knit & wearing it with the golden lace scarf – the colours are lovely together

Leave a Reply

