An impulsive orange cowl…

While shopping a couple of weeks back in a wonderful yarn emporium in old London Town (yes, there is a blog post coming about the big exciting trip to London!) I spied the perfect orange… Slightly ‘bitter’, worsted weight, pure wool… just my kind of impulse buy 😉

So, two big fat skeins of Cascade 220 in shade 7824 – Jack ‘O’ Lantern – made their way back home with me. I’d no idea what they might turn into.  I briefly thought of some long ribbed ‘arm warmer’ type affairs, with thumb holes, to keep hands toasty in a chilly yarn shed this winter. When I gave it a second thought, however, I couldn’t face the endless round and round of a 1×1 rib…

A cowl then. A big warm, cosy cowl that could be looped or draped or slung casually depending on the temperature and the mood.

Ravelry, of course, came up with many and varied options but I settled on the Hourglass Cowl by Leslie Weber for its clever reversibility and simple-yet-interesting pattern to knit.

It was a quick, furious knit that I tackled with one of the worst throat/head/sinus colds I’ve had for years! Hence even the simple pattern involved knitting some rows more than once twice!!! I’ve barely taken it off since finishing it (because orange goes with everything right?) now Autumn has arrived with a vengeance! Brrrrrr…

 

 

All details Ravelled here

5 thoughts on “An impulsive orange cowl…

  1. Pingback: Surely not more ‘finished knitting’? | making things with beautiful yarn

  2. Pingback: Christmas knitting round up… | making things with beautiful yarn

Leave a Reply

