New month… new Knit-A-Long!

The planets aligned earlier this week and I found myself unpacking 4 big boxes of absolutely gorgeous yarn from The Fibre Company (feel free to have a look, just to confirm for yourself that it is indeed absolutely gorgeous…) just as I was reading, in snippets by way of Twitter, of a brand new KAL (knit-a-long) about to start. It’s a ‘Woollywormhead’ Mystery Hat-a-long to be precise and being a big fan of Ms. Woolly and having a skein – or several – of the requisite Sport weight yarn sat right in front of me, well… the temptation was just too great!

I hopped over to Ravelry and signed up there and then… it officially starts today (Nov 1st) and I think you will find you can still join in if you head on over now 😉 It is, after all, the perfect weather for a new hat don’t ya think?

My chosen yarn is Fibre Company ‘Road to China Light’ in Smoky Quartz. It’s a truly scrumptious blend of Alpaca, Silk, Camel and Cashmere… Mmmmmmmmm. I do fear that truly, it may not quite have the ‘bounce’ that Woolly says may be a useful quality for this hat but honestly, I just could not resist. It’s so warm… so soft…. such a beautiful shade. If it doesn’t work out I’ll just have to knit another one 😉

I have been a good girl and swatched…

And even gone down a needle size and re-swatched!

It’s looking good! So I’m off…

It’s ‘knit night’ at Main’s in Yoxford this evening so I’ll be armed with the first pattern installment and a crochet hook ready for a provisional cast on. I’ve not used a crochet hook for a provisional before but I do like to embrace new techniques, especially with a little project like a hat so wish me luck (especially given that with the chit-chat and other distractions it’s quite normal for me to have to rip back several rows of the most simple stocking stitch pattern the morning after ‘knit night’).

I shall be taking along some of the lovely Fibre Company yarn for the other ‘knit nighters’ (that’s a technical term don’t you know 😉 ) to fondle – I think they might like it….

 

3 thoughts on “New month… new Knit-A-Long!

  1. Pingback: New (on the) needles… | making things with beautiful yarn

  2. Pingback: Encircled | making things with beautiful yarn

Leave a Reply

