Encircled

I hopped onto the Woolly Wormhead Mystery Hat KAL on the spur of the moment and I am so glad I did! Knit-a-longs are such a lovely way to experience the wonderful on-line knitting community.

I grabbed a couple of skeins of ‘Road to China Light‘ (Smoky quartz) from the Fibre Company – whose first delivery just happened to coincide with the start of the KAL and off I set…

A lovely pattern, broken up into 3 parts. Each part emailed just over a week apart, so plenty of time to get to grips with new techniques and compare progress with the rest of the knitters.

There’s always a little extra ‘frisson’ when you’ve no idea what the finished knit is going to look like… but when the designer is as talented as Woolly is there’s no doubting it will be gorgeous! And sure enough…

Isn’t she lovely? (The hat, not the model obviously 😉 )

An opportunity to choose a big button from the tin too…

Such a lovely name revealed at the end too. ‘Encircle‘ just about sums up the whole knit-a-long experience.  And if you’ve just clicked on that link to the pattern on Ravelry you’ll see I had my own extra special little ‘moment’ when Woolly Wormhead herself asked if she could use my picture on the pattern page!!

If you haven’t joined in a ‘KAL’ (be it a ‘mystery’ or not) I urge you to dip a toe in at the earliest opportunity. Or you could just knit yourself one of these to keep your ears warm this winter!

All the details of mine can be seen on Ravelry here

6 thoughts on “Encircled

  1. I love love love this hat. It looks great on you! I’ve never done a KAL, though I always eye them up. A Mystery KAL scares me ever so slightly. Back to the hat: the red button is a perfect compliment to the color.

  2. That hat is incredible. I’m a fairly new knitter, but enjoy a new challenge. I think I’ll have to add this one to my favorites and revisit it once there is time. It’s beautiful.

Leave a Reply

