Christmas knitting round up…

The run-up to Christmas was the usual mad dash to shop, cook, dispatch – and of course knit! Following tradition, I planned just a couple of knitted gifts and ended up finishing half a dozen 😉 The last being cast on on Christmas Eve, thankfully for my nephew who wasn’t due to visit until at least the 28th!

In no particular order, may I present this years’ Christmas knits – TA-DA!

harvest2

This little Harvest cardigan proved a big hit with my nephew and his mum. My version was slightly modified  (well, in the sense that I didn’t knit the body in the fancy ‘reverse double moss stitch’  that looked fabulous but that my pre-Christmas brain refused to retain or ‘read’ for more than a row at a time!!) to plain stocking stitch and thus it was a simple knit from the bottom up with the shawl collar picked up at the end. For some reason it took me no less than three attempts to pick up sufficient stitches for the button band and collar but we got there in the end (there may have been some swearing though…)

hat

This one was the last-last-last minute knit that characterises Christmas in the Meadow Yarn house 😉 Started on Christmas Eve no less a cute little ‘earflap hat‘ for a fast growing nephew. I think he liked it!

iphonecosy

 

For the brother-in-law who has everything… an iphone cosy knitted in gorgeous Rowan Fine Tween that I had knocking about in my stash. A lovely pattern with a lining and little ‘ear phone’ pocket. The pattern and the flexible purse frame came from the lovely Cotton & Cloud store and proved just the thing!

Lynne's Cowl

This is another Hour Glass Cowl, knit for my sister and completed much more quickly than my own orange version which was knit in a fog of sinus pain and coughing I seem to remember! I think there may be even more of these on the horizon.

Meg's Christmas Jumper

Finally, a wonderful little sweater for my sweet niece. Peysu (which is literally Icelandic for ‘sweater’) is a great pattern and I foresee more of these in my future as well! Knit in Hjertegarn Lima (as were most of my Christmas knits) for a proper ‘woolly’ finish I think the shades are quite retro and I like it! A simple colour work pattern that tripped off the needles in no time… thankfully!

I also managed to whip up a quick hat for me in time for a new year’s day walk on the beach and – wait for it – I finally finished Chris’s Alpaca socks that were on the needles for almost-but-not-quite a whole year… but that is such a momentous moment that is deserves it’s very own blog post 😉

Phew! After all those little projects in such quick succession it felt like time to move on to something more substantial – yep, there’s another ‘Man Cardi’ on the go, wish me luck!

All details can be seen on my Ravelry project page

 

Leave a Reply

