Harumi

Just in time for a little spell of slightly warmer weather, where a sweater is still required but some of the layers have been shed, I got around to finishing this little number…

DSCF5297Perfect with a stripy T underneath!

It’s Harumi, a lovely pattern from the very talented Kyoko Nakayoshi of Cotton & Cloud. Knit from the bottom up, it incorporates a cabled panel which gradually increases to form a shawl collar. Simple increases across the shoulder create lovely little cap sleeves and the simple rib armholes and hem complete a very stylish garment. I snaffled some of the lovely Debbie Bliss Blue Faced Leicester Aran yarn from the sale before it all disappeared (there’s still some available if you’re tempted!) and it was a very quick knit. In fact, I cast on as respite from two stocking stitch sleeves for a new cardigan for Chris which were seeming to stretch endlessly into the distance and it proved the perfect antidote…

DSCF5300The yarn is springy and soft with a nice twist and it’s a shame we’re not going to be stocking it any more as I’d happily knit myself a sweater or two with some of the brighter shades! I had a half-formed idea for a slouchy crew neck in the lovely tomato red … then someone else read my mind and it’s all gone 😉

Harumi closes with a single large button and crochet loop arrangement (and a little tiny one inside to stop the front drooping) and I had the perfect specimen in my Jacob’s Cream Cracker tin (Does everyone keep their buttons in a vintage Jacob’s Cream Cracker tin? You know, the one with the goldfinches on it…) A lovely concave, matt black button that I think works really nicely with the charcoal grey yarn and the style of the garment.

DSCF5301While I really would like it to be too warm for any sort of sweater in the not too distant future, if we are going to hang on to this endless winter for a bit longer it’s the perfect little number!

I’d highly recommend hopping over to Kyoko’s web site and having a rummage when you’ve a moment. She writes a lovely blog and her shop is a very handy source of bag and purse ‘fixings’ and Japanese pattern books, as well as her own inimitable designs…

While we’re on the subject of lovely blogs… have you visited Knitsofacto this weekend? Annie’s blog is at the top of my must-read list so I was thrilled when she asked if she could grill interview me about having the perfect job 😉 If you’re not already au-fait with Annie’s wonderful writing I’d head over there right away… but put the kettle on and fetch your knitting first.

All the details of harumi are Ravelled here

2 thoughts on “Harumi

  1. It’s gorgeous! And I love the colour 🙂

    I could have sworn I’d already commented here, saying that interviewing you was my pleasure … I hope it didn’t feel like grilling!

Leave a Reply

